George Beaton Award

Recognizing Student Work in Public Health Nutrition

The George Beaton Award of the Canadian Nutrition Society (CNS) is given for the highest ranked abstract in the field of public health nutrition.

To be considered for this award, students must enter the competition at the time of abstract submission and must indicate on their form that they would like their abstract to be reviewed for the George Beaton Award along with the Nutrition Graduate Student and Trainee Award.  The applicant must be a graduate student, post-degree dietetic intern, or medical resident and willing to present (oral or poster presentation) their work at the conference. Both the applicant and his/her supervisor must be  current members in good standing with the CNS at the time of submission to be eligible. Authors already holding a PhD degree are not eligible.

A committee, appointed by the CNS President and Awards Chair, will make the selection for the recipient of the George Beaton Award.  The Award will be presented at the CNS Annual Conference. The award package consists of a monetary award, framed certificate or plaque, and a complimentary ticket to the CNS Awards Banquet where the official presentation of the award will take place.

Previous Award Winners

2019 - Jacqueline Brown, University of Ontario Institute of Technology
2018 - Anne-Julie Tessier, McGill University
2017 - Myriam Landry, Université Laval
2016 - Kyly Whitfield, University of British Columbia
2015 - Sheida Noorhosseini, University of Toronto

2014 - Lisa Martin, Brescia University College at Western University
2013 - Teri E. Emrich, University of Toronto
2012 - Mahsa Jessri, University of Toronto
2011 - Teri E. Emrich, University of Toronto



© 2019 CNS-SCN - Canadian Nutrition Society