Congratulations to the 2017 CNS Award Recipients

Career Recognition Awards 
(presented by the Food for Health Foundation)
Khursheed Jeejeebhoy Award for Best Application of Clinical Nutrition Research Findings to Clinical Practice 
- Stephanie Atkinson, PhD
Supported by Abbott Canada
Earle Willard McHenry Award for Distinguished Service in Nutrition 
Valerie Tarasuk, PhD
Supported by Fresenius KAbi
Young Investigator Award for Outstanding Research 
- René Jacobs, PhD
Supported by Pfizer Consumer Healthcare
CNS Career Recognition Awards
CIHR INMD / CNS – New Investigator Partnership Prize 
JoAnne Arcand, PhD
Supported by CIHR-INMD / CNS
CIHR INMD / CNS – Post-Doctoral Partnership Prize 
Shirin Panahi, PhD
Supported by CIHR-INMD / CNS
Service Awards
President’s Volunteer Leadership Award 
- Dr. Robert Bertolo, PhD
Supported by CNS
Fellowship Awards
Clinical Nutrition Fellowship
- Dr. Maria Ines Pinto-Sanchez
Supported by CNS, CIHR-INMD and Nestlé Health Sciences
Clinical Nutrition Fellowship
- tbd
Supported by CNS, CIHR-INMD and Nestlé Health Sciences
Abstract Awards
Clinical Nutrition Research Abstract Award 
Jean-Philippe Drouin-Chartier, Université Laval 
The Gordon F. Mutch Young Investigator Award in Diabetes Research 
Simon Bissonnette, University of Montreal
Supported by the Gordon F. Mutch Family
Thematic Conference Abstract Award 
Ashkan Hashemi, University of Toronto
Supported by the CNS
Mohammed Moghadasian Award for Student Research in the Application of Nutrition in Cardiovascular Disease 
Paulina Aldana Hernandez, University of Alberta
Supported by Mohammed Moghadasian
George Beaton Award for Student Work in Public Health Nutrition 
Myriam Landry, Université Laval
Supported by the Department of Nutritional Sciences, University of Toronto
Publication Awards
Applied Physiology, Nutrition and Metabolism Award for Nutrition Translation 
- Heather Keller, RD, PhD, FDC; Celia Laur, MSc, Phd(c); Tara McNicholl, BSc; Renata Valaitis, PhD, 
Supported by Canadian Science Publishers 
Trainee Awards
PhD Dissertation Award for Outstanding Research 
Crystal Karakochuk, PhD 
Supported by DSM
Nutrition Graduate Student and Trainee Award Finalist /Christine Gagnon Memorial  Travel Award 

1st place: Kathryn Jacob

2nd place: Pascale Grégoire-Pelchat

3rd place: Marnie Newell

  • Paulina Aldana Hernandez, University of Alberta,
  • Tatiana Allore, Université Laval
  • Marina Castro, University of Toronto
  • Kerri Delaney, Concordia University
  • Jean-Philippe Drouin-Chartier, Université Laval
  • Pascale Grégoire-Pelchat, Université de Montréal
  • Kathryn Jacob, McGill University
  • Marnie Newell, University of Alberta
CNS Poster Competition 
1st place:  Neil Brett
2nd place: Claire Tugault-Lafleur
3rd place:  Véronique Gingras
  • Neil Brett, McGill University
  • Véronique Gingras, Université de Montréal
  • Ashkan Hashemi, University of Toronto
  • Myriam Landry, Université Laval
  • Sara Nejatinamini, University of Alberta
  • Jessica Pawly, McGill University
  • Claudia Savard, Université Laval
  • Claire Tugault-Lafleur, University of British Columbia